Slow Training begins

I am starting to do slow Training so running under 12 minute miles. As this builds up endurance and distance for longer runs. I set my Garmin watch to alert me when i went over 12mi so i could stick to a slower pace.

So this morning at 10am i went outside to start. It was only 20c and feeling fresh as it had rained the night before perfect running weather!

I was only doing a mile and half this morning according to my training plan. I started off well enough but then my Garmin started beeping at me telling me i was going to fast! So i slowed right down to a really really slow run which felt soooooo weird!!

My Garmin then freaked out on me saying i was doing 8mi, then 10mi then 21mi in a matter of seconds! I have a feeling the GPS wasnt connecting properly either that or it doesnt like my training pace. Its something im going to have to keep an eye on.

I did notice at this slower pace i didnt need to take any 30 second breaks or pauses i ran the whole thing without stopping and i didnt get out of breath either which was a nice change! No bright red face!! I was sweating alot though at the end which was good!

Run went fine i didnt get any aches or pains at all so i think im going to enjoy this slower pace running which will help build up my endurance and distance!

Also i have found a Halloween virtual run for october!! It looks fun and they send you a t-shirt and medal as well! You can run it anywhere you want even your normal running path or even walk it. So i might be giving it a go as it could be alot of fun! 😀

http://shrinkingjeans.net/2012/09/zombie-dash/

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

