HM Training Week 4 Day 3 – 5 miles

Today was my long run day and looking out the window it was grey and wet and uninviting. Its xmas week and i have been feeling rather lazy to be honest so its been harder this week to motivate myself than other weeks.

So i waited until lunchtime when it looked a little less grey and the rain had stopped to venture outside. Of course after my pre running yoga workout 🙂

It was a 5 mile run on my plan so i decided to head for the big park. It was cold out my hands were a bit numb at first and i could see my breath infront of my face when i breathed brrrr. First mile in and my knee started to feel uncomfortable and my legs were heavy i felt like i was running though mud. So i decided to speed up and see how fast i could do the first 5km’s of the run.

I had to stop twice on the 2nd mile as my right leg which i never have trouble with seemed really tense and if i stopped for a minute that seemed to help.

Anyway i ran as fast as i could and managed a 5km in 35mins 52 secs which im quite proud of! Especially as at the begining of this year i was running 5km’s easily in 34mins 🙂

I must admit i felt slightly sick after the 5km fast run as im not used to running that fast anymore. But i did notice my knee discomfort was gone and my hip was fine! Which leads me to believe i should be running a bit faster than the slow 12min miles or more i have been going.

As it was a 5 mile run i still had 2 miles left to go which i did at a very slow pace. When i finally got home my hips and butt were aching from where i had run faster than normal. I iced my knee straight away even though it had been fairly ok through the run.

Chatting to my friend and mentor of running Jess she said i should let my body run at the speed it wants now as long as i dont exhaust myself and feel ok doing it. Also if i want to try for PB’s its better to start off slow then do the fast miles/pb’s on the last miles of the run.

So thats a good plan im going to stick to i think!

I also noticed alot of change round my hips again where there tonning when i was getting ready for the run 🙂

We have been sent a load of xmas boxes from Alex work as gifts and the cupboards are now stuffed with cakes, biscuits and chocolates! So if i intend to eat them i have to keep going on my plan with no excuses lol

Poor Ciro my cat now has a cold he keeps sneezing and has a runny nose so i keep turning the heating on for him poor baby. He’s also being spoilt rotten!

tumblr_meu2b9J3zi1qd3i8jo1_500

 

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

