Domestic Goddess me?

Last weekend i suddenly got the urge to make pancakes after seeing a photo of them on a cooking page i follow on Facebook.

Bare in mind i had never made pancakes before in my life but had fond memories of my flatmate in London making them each year for pancake day.

Dont get me wrong i know how to cook and enjoy making sheppherds pie, stews and other English dishes to impress my Italian Husband. But baking is something i never really tried my hand at properly, although i have memories of making little cakes with my Grandmother when i was little.

So sunday i went to the supermarket which was open in the morning and bought uova (eggs), Burro (butter), latte (milk), farina (flour), liveito in polvere (baking powder).

Clutching my shopping bag with excitment i headed home to check the recipe i had found online to make easy good old fashioned pancakes.

I have to admit i was a bit nervous of making a complete mess of it but once i had my mixing bowl in hand and the ingredients mixing away i felt a lot more confident.

I had already decided to make the thicker american style pancakes rather than the thin english ones as i had a lot of batter made.
wpid-IMG_20140209_122500.jpg

I was surpised how well my pancakes came out and soon had a mountain of them on a plate ready to eat!
Alex had never had them before so i gave him the classic lemon juice with sugar pancake topping for his first one then his second just with strawberry jam.

wpid-IMG_20140209_011336.jpgwpid-IMG_20140209_011245.jpg

We both agreed in the end the classic lemon juice and sugar topping was the best!

I was so please with how they turned out that the next day i decided to try my hand at making banana cupcakes!

I already had the trays for making cakes and cupcakes in the cupboard as i had bought them several years ago but never used them.

Finding an easy banana cupcake recipe was easy and i really got stuck in making them. I made sure the banana’s were really mashed well and even had a few happy flash backs of making cakes with my Grandmother πŸ™‚

They turned out really well and i was proud of how they turned out!
wpid-IMG_20140210_113255.jpg

I think i might buy some chocolate & vanilla flavour and some other things i can use for my baking like icing. And i may even try my hand at other things to bake other than just cakes and pancakes!

I really am enjoying baking alot and i guess part of the urge for me to start doing this is so i can be good at it for when Peanut is older. That way i can show her how to make these things and we can have fun baking togeather and create some nice memmories!

Plus its always good to teach children to cook and one day we can make some Italian recipes from my big book of Italian cooking πŸ™‚

Perhaps im turning into a domestic goddess after all!

Domestic Goddess color

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 11:48:03

    Well done πŸ™‚ I love baking! Btw if you ever make pancakes again, we love them with maple sirup….nam nam πŸ˜€ Even the little one loves it, but he likes it also with mashed fruit on top.

    Reply

  2. Francesca Maria
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 20:16:13

    My daughter has just moved to Rome for work and is trying to just be able to make chicken soup. She has no idea about cooking, but she sure is learning fast… she loves to eat so it’s either she learns or she starves. In my case I have to cook Japanese food to impress my husband, he’s Japanese. Your pancakes made me hungry, you don’t know how much I love them. I miss the Aunt Jemima ones. Whenever I don’t know what to cook I just make pancakes…my favorite are the pumpkin ones. We have so many pumpkins here in Sicily.

    Reply

  3. ciro1
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 07:40:06

    It was a lot of fun making them πŸ™‚ oooh i have never tried pumpkin ones before & maple sirup sounds good to i will have to try them both! Its good your Daughter is a fast learner she will be impressing you with her cooking in know time! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

