Road to Hogwarts Virtual Race

As i mentioned in a previous post i have joined a Harry Potter virtual running Group.

Apart from joining one of the different school houses (Hufflepuff) and getting house points from running they also do virtual races.

Middle of July i signed up for the Road to Hogwarts 90 day challenge! It cost me 30 euros for the entrance fee which goes to charity.

main-image

Then I had from the 1st July to the 1st of October to run 52 virtual miles from Aberdeen to Dufftown where Hogwarts is located.

Once you had signed up on their web page and the race web page you had to indicate what type of device you used for running. So for me it was my Garmin although other options where fitbit and Runkeeper.

It then connected to my Garmin account where it would automatically log my runs each day and add them to my distance to Hogwarts! This got me motivated to run and connect my Garmin as sometimes i would leave it for some days before doing this.

Once you finished the course between those dates you would recieve a very cool Medal for your achievement!

It took me 5 weeks to run the entire distance which im quite proud of and it kept my motivation for running high. I did have a problem with my Garmin connecting but that was the fault of Garmin and a recent update to their website which alot of people are having trouble with.

Luckily the race website gives you the option to put your runs in manually so thats what I had to do for the last 20 miles.

11896155_10152980771826817_4542056637760548061_n

I am so happy to have finally completed my run all the way to hogwarts!

I am really enjoying these virtual races as after all i am always running against myself even in when doing normal races.

I also like the fact im getting some very cool exclusive medals that not everyone else has and im working for them over a longer time period 🙂

It’s also nice to have them linked to something like the Harry Potter world which i love and makes them all the more special in my eyes 🙂

11751736_553853424755222_7784658661664525607_n

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gil
    Sep 02, 2015 @ 17:12:37

    Good luck! You need that medal…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

