Back to Running!

Its been almost two weeks since my fall. Since i fell hard, fast and flat on the tarmac in the park in the dark. It is an experience i hope never to repeat.

My hands and knee are all healed up now with only healing scars to show.

I have been having trouble with my wrist. That first week after falling it was hurting alot. I couldn’t put weight on it and it was agony if i moved it in certain ways.

Talking to the Doctor at the pharmacy he gave me some gel and a brace to keep it still. They have worked wonders as the pain began to lessen after a few days. He assured me it was nothing more than a bad sprain.

So the fall was on a Wednesday and i was back out running by saturday afternoon. I was both excited and scared to get back out there.

I have to admit i was terrified of falling again. It was not a nice experience and has made me wary of the paths and running faster. All running in the dark is not as nice as running in daylight.

So that saturday i took it slow and went for a run. Everything was still healing at the time but luckily i had no pain.

I did slow right down where i fell with fear i might fall again. I think that point in the park will always worry me now.

I was happy that i actually managed a PB! (personal best) Some seconds faster on my current 5km time! 😀

11058149_10153765069498594_9006595287163531464_n

Since then i have been going out 4-5 times a week running no more than 5kms. Mostly this is because when i run in the week its at night and i don’t have a lot of time.

The other reason is my wrist ached when i ran.

Now everything is better i am going to start adding the milage. I want to get back to where i was on the 10km plan i was following. I had been running 4 and half miles before my fall.

I need to be able to do 10kms by newyears eve that is my aim!

 

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

