Potty Training begins

So i have started the year with trying to get Miss Peanut potty trained.

To be honest i have waited this long because i have been dreading it. Just the thought of her without a nappy scared the hell out of me.

What if she didn’t understand? What if she freaked out? The endless questions of what the heck she would do bare bummed! I have heard the horror stories and wasn’t looking forwards to it.

We’ve had the actual pink potty for about five months.

12512697_10153884341308594_2956110085241301351_n

She has seen it and not really been interested with it. Up until now i haven’t shown her what its for either. It’s just sat in a corner of the bathroom lonely and unused.

My friend Jenny gave me a few books last weekend. Two were potty books for kids.

Peanut immediately fell in love with one of them. She studied the cartoons and got me to read it to her a few million times. After that it hasn’t been far from her since she got it on saturday.

Monday morning i was surprised when she bought me the book and her pink potty. The kid is two years and three months old! But as sharp as a tack when learning stuff.

I could tell she was telling me it was time. Potty training was going to have to start.

Swallowing my dread, we sat on the floor and looked at the book again together.

Then i showed her how to sit on it while fully dressed. I decided maybe that would be a start. She had fun doing that for a while. The she looked at both books again.

12507374_10153884341483594_2620674732324852108_n

Then as kids do she got bored and moved onto playing. That was fine by me. I was happy to start in stages.

In the afternoon she was back at my side with the book.

I could not help but laugh. She was determined to get this done.

Nappy coming off this time she went straight to sit on her potty. She seemed content to just sit on it and watch tv. I found myself relaxing. How hard could this be?

I kept encouraging with saying ‘ lets peepee’ and ‘ are you going to poopoo’. She knows what both of these mean.

Every time she shadows me to the bathroom i tell her what i’m doing. So she’s picked that up quite quickly.

So after an hour she hadn’t done either. Going into the bathroom i pretend to have a peepee.

I realise my mistake straight away. Peanut decided she wanted to sit on the big toilet to. She wanted to be a big girl.

To avoid a temper tantrum i let her sit on it. I was kind of curious to see what she would do anyway.

We grinned at each other for a while. After ten minutes of her just sitting there and me holding her it started to get boring. My arms were hurting from holding her. I had visions of her falling down the hole. She wasn’t peeing or pooing.

So we decided to go back to the sitting room. When i say ‘we’ i mean me with a very grumpy toddler. I think she would have sat on the big toilet all night.

I know we are going to have to buy her one of those kiddie toilet seats on the weekend. At least that way my arms will be saved.

A few more times sitting on the potty she got bored again. Instead she thought chasing the cat around the flat bare bottomed was much more fun.

12507455_10153884341458594_849944861514159626_n

When it was time for the nappy back on she really didn’t want it. It took another ten minutes to convince her it was for the best.

This morning she’s back with the book and the potty.

It’s obvious this is not going to be forgotten or skipped. The child is determined.

So now i’m sitting here writing this with a bare bummed child dancing in the middle of the sitting room to music.

The pink potty is sitting beside her. The potty book is on the sofa.

Like yesterday we haven’t relieved ourselves yet. I keep glancing over waiting for a little accident and wondering if i should get the mop out ready. Quietly praying to the potty training gods to be merciful and let us conquer this quickly.

I’m hoping she will go straight for the potty when she needs to go. I doubt though that i’m going to be that lucky.

Other mum’s have told me it can take a few days, weeks or even months to get a toddler out of their nappies.

I’m just happy Miss Peanut seems keen to do it.

Hopefully by september she won’t need them. I know it’s a must for when she starts school in september.

I am keep keeping my fingers crossed.

12508889_10153884341393594_7041041942105607689_n

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raccontando
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 10:36:27

    Good luck! All 3 of mine refused to go on a potty and went straight to the toilet (with a step and a child seat) so might be worth a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

