Cosmo Restaurant – Norwich – UK Trip

Here’s my review from October about a great place to eat in Norwich in Norfolk!

While we were visiting family in the UK in October i was really wanting to try a new place i had heard about.

Someone i know posted it on facebook and said this certain restaurant was really good. The food looked amazing and the place looked quite glitzy.

Me being me, i told my family about it and persuaded one of my sisters and my mother to try it out with me. The place is in Norwich. I love this town it’s a great place for shopping and places to eat.

11220079_10153724508663594_3531408697325147086_n

The restaurant is called Cosmo and it serves pan asian and world banquet dining. It is also all you can eat! My family like buffet places especially when there’s a big family clan meeting. Everyone can get fed without to much being spent. Also the benefit of places like this people can eat what ever they want. We have picky eaters in our family and also a few vegetarians.

So when we all meet up we really need somewhere with a lot of choice. That way at least everyone is happy!

When we got there we ended up standing in a line for ten minutes. We managed to beearly and people were already waiting. Nanny did complain a little. She’s the type who likes to go straight in. Me and my sister managed to convince her it was worth the wait though.

Slowly we all filtered in when the doors opened. We had to leave Miss Peanut’s buggy down stairs as the actually restaurant was upstairs. This wasn’t to bad as there was a hostess down stairs letting people up, so i knew it would be safe.

Weighed down with our shopping bags and toddler in tow we went up the escalators (there is also a lift.)

The place is HUGE. Seriously i have never seen an all you can eat place as big as this.

As we were guided to our eats by yet another hostess, I eyed the food stations hungrily. They were not kidding when they said they had worldwide food.

My eyed roved over the sushi bar. I also saw signs for curries, rice, noodles!

The drinks we discovered were re-fillable if you had soft drinks! So we had diet sodas while Nanny had an orange juice.

Deciding it was best to go up one at a time Nanny went first. We always do this so there’s someone at our table guarding our bags.

Nanny always tends to start with soup and was soon back with a bowl of chicken and sweetcorn soup. Leaving her and Miss Peanut who was now in a high chair me and my sister went to have a look.

I prowled the aisles checking out what was under each covering. Sushi was a must. Although they didn’t have the biggest selection i have ever seen i was happy to get some. So that was what i started with.

My sister instead went a little over board with her plate! I don’t like doing this as it can mix the flavours up to much. I liked to know what i am tasting so i can go get more if its good or leave it if i don’t like it.

12106794_10153724509873594_1953335676218822826_n

(My sister’s heaving plate of food)

Miss Peanut had some omelette, chips and pasta. She can be a fussy eater sometimes so i started her off with things she knew. She seemed quite happy with what she had which was a relief.

Once i was done with my sushi i went for some noodles and ribs.

11167656_10153724509158594_9220175775249498985_nThe ribs were AMAZING! Really good that i had to go back for more. All of us were impressed with what we were sampling. Living in Italy i have become a bit of a food snob. I admit this freely. Italian’s love their food so if they aren’t happy about it you know.

I tend to find myself now being critical about what i eat. That being said i did stay away from the Italian selection they were offering. Nothing i have tasted in the UK can compare with the food in Italy. Not when you live there.

So i was happy to stick with ribs, sushi, curries and chinese. Things i don’t always get to eat back in Rome.

As you can see from my next pic i moved onto more ribs and chicken korma with rice. My portions were small. I was pacing myself.

 

12118864_10153724509573594_6486104590402715040_n

I had no wish to feel sick if i gorged. This could have happened easily enough as i miss this types of food and it was a big treat for me. My sister was feeling defeated and slightly queasy by her third big plate. She complained about her small belly suddenly being so big.

It was funny watching her sit there moaning and groaning in pain. Even Nanny pointed out she shouldn’t have gone so wild. My sister admitted though things looked so good every time she passed she couldn’t help but add it to her plate.

Luckily for me i didn’t have this problem. Me and Miss Peanut even had dessert. desserts where really really good! There was a fairly food cake selection, also icecream as well. I had the coconut cake. It was so soft and moist. yum!

After that we decided to walk off our big lunch. Miss Peanut was happy to get out and stretch her legs. My sister staggered along pushing the pushchair still complaining.

12039299_10153724508868594_8682362803332972553_nA few weeks later we went back with my Brother, his girlfriend and her dad!

Shes a vegetarian but had plenty to choose from in fact its now her favorite place. (My other sister and niece are also veggie eaters so i know they can be fussy times.) I had to admit i was worried about her finding something she liked until we got in there. Thankfully it was not a problem.

Her Dad had never tasted sushi before and loved his first taste! It was funny everyone sitting there and then saying how amazing something tasted. Everyone would then go to try it for themselves.

Miss Peanut had a whale of a time and loved the food. She was happy with pizza, pasta but also tried noodles, baked beans. She is obsessed with baked beans now. I am happy i can find them in certain places here in Rome now!

12208488_10153744450853594_3419212500389206383_n

The waitress we had both times adored her. She kept coming up to chat to us and make sure everything was alright. Miss Peanut liked all the attention. Even now she’s sitting on the computer desk while i type pointing at the pics of her. (Crazy child.)

12189068_10153744450683594_1177099404177032993_nI am really happy that its a family friendly place. There was always a highchair ready for my girl. The staff were helpful and friendly. She was happy with the food and entertained with everything going on around her. They looked after our pushchair at there reception area both times. I knew then i didn’t have to spend the time worrying about it.

It looks like you get alot more to choose from at dinnertime as well and there’s already tons at lunch times. So on another trip i would love to go for dinner there. I know they do mexican food to in the evenings or some i am told.

They did dinners for Christmas as well as a buffet!

I know my brother and his girlfriend have been back quiet a few times. So has my sister and Nanny. Just last week Nanny dragged Grandad in there and now he likes it to! I have a feeling we will be going when we go for an early visit near Easter!

12042869_10153724510133594_6997456471739477921_n

 

http://www.cosmo-restaurants.co.uk/Norwich-restaurant.php

Leave a Reply

The Hunter Chronicles

Frostbite - A Novel by Claire Marta

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

21097m

Training for my first half marathon

Jessica on the Run

The tail of an American gal with two crazy dalmatians in Northern France

